The series is brought to you by members of Oxford's two orienteering clubs:

Thames Valley OC

Oxford University OC


2018/19 Series

This page links to the results of each event and shows the overall standings for the season, with positions based on the best four scores.

Event 1: Headington, Tuesday 25th September 2018, planned by Neville Baker

Event 2: Jericho, City Centre, Wednesday 24th October 2018, planned by Ben Green

Event 3: Botley, Wednesday 5th December 2018, planned by Laura & Nick Leach

Event 4: Thame, Tuesday 22nd January 2019, planned by Jon Harvey

Event 5: TBA February 2019, planned by John Owens

Event 6: TBA March 2019, planned by Charlotte Coles

Event 7: Standford-by-Thames Wednesday 24th April 2019, planned by Marcin Krzysztofik

Event 8: Grandpont & South Hinksey xx May 2019, planned by Andy Lawrence

Overall standings for women

 NameClassClubSepOctDecJanFebMarAprMayEventsBest 4
1Katie TrusloveW21IND4950463145
2Charlotte ColesW35TVOC4448503142
3Marie-Anne FischerW55TVOC4843493140
4Laura LeachW35ERR49[49]298
5Kristina PahkalaW21IND4145286
6=Rose HarveyW16TVOC4339282
6=Fran HarveyW45TVOC4339282
8Sarah RighettiW21TVOC50150
9=Rebecca AspinW18OUOC48148
9=Kate McKerrowW21IND48148
11=Lucie BouardW21IND47147
11=Lucy ScottW35HRR47147
13=Helen TurleyW60HRR46146
13=Jackie DuvallW60HRR46146
13=Harriet IbbettW21IND46146
16=Emily SchmidtW21HRR45145
16=Johanna MichlW21OUOC45145
18=Madeleine DingW35HRR44144
18=Zoe ThornbrughW45HookN44144
18=Alison CraggsW35ERR44144
21=Aini VuorinenW21OUOC43143
21=Mari ArnoldW35IND43143
21=Louise SmithW21IND43143
24=Heather WaltonW55TVOC42142
24=Tara LawfullW45ERR42142
24=Marina Barlow-OakesW21ERR42142
27=Alina PopaW21IND41141
27=Vanessa AracilW21IND41141
27=Jacky PinnockW55ERR41141
30=Ali KempsonW50TVOC40140
30=Alison BarryW50HRR40140
30=Megan BarryW18HRR40140
30=Amelia IrvingW14HRR40140
34Amandine GeorgesW21IND39139
35Mari AroldW35IND38138
36Anna FowlerW20OUOC37137
37Cat McMurranW21IND36136
38Anna ZavalaniW21IND35135

Overall standings for men

PosNameClassClubSepOctDecJanFebMarAprMayEventsBest 4
1Robin BishopM50TVOC4846463140
2Mark TarrantM21IND4546423133
3Neville BakerM60TVOC[39]39393117
4Roger CliffeM45TVOC4032383110
5Nigel BunnM50TVOC50502100
6Matthew WallenM21HRR4850298
7Adam NightingaleM21IND4947296
8Andy LawrenceM40TVOC4845293
9Tom DawsonM21ATD4249291
10Phil RavenM40IND4643289
11Tom VennM35TVOC4741288
12Jon HarveyM40TVOC4440284
13Tom HarveyM18TVOC4436280
14John TurnerM65TVOC3935274
15Roger ThetfordM55TVOC49149
16Jan TravnicekM40TVOC48148
17=Jack HarveyM10TVOC44144
17=Andreas FriskM35TVOC44144
17=Richard HumeM40ERR44144
20=Gene JegorovsM21IND43143
20=Arthur McEwan-JamesM21ERR43143
22Sam WebbM21IND42142
23=Anthony WoodM50HRR41141
23=Ben LonsdaleM35RAFO41141
25Bernard CalnahM65TVOC40140
26=Stephane HelleM35IND39139
26=Jac CrossM40IND39139
28=Bill ChildM55TVOC37137
28=Mark CreaseyM60ERR37137
30Adrian PinnockM55ERR36136
31Frazer MacDiarmidM21OUOC34134
32Matthew DewsburyM21IND33133
33Jon WheatcroftM65TVOC31131
34Ben GreenM40TVOC[org]00

Scoring system

The scoring system has changed once again this season, though only slightly. Men’s and women’s performances will be scored separately. The winner of each gender for an event will score 50 points, then 49 for second, 48 for third, etc. Overall positions for the series will be listed separately for men and women, and be based on your best four scores so you don’t need to be able to come every month to be in with a chance of overall prizes. The tie-breaker for those with equal scores overall is head-to-head record, while as an incentive to potential organisers/planners they are awarded a score for their event equal to their best score in the series.

The results for each individual event are determined by adding up the values of each control visited (usually ten worth 10 points, ten worth 20 points and ten worth 30 points for a maximum score of 600) and subtracting a penalty for late return (10 points for every minute or part minute). The tie-breaker for those with equal scores is lower penalty, if this is also the same then positions are equal.